Fossils & Minerals:  Echinoderms
Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Echinodermata

Echinoderms are spiny-skinned, exclusively marine, organisms whose bodies can usually be divided into five parts around a central axis. They possess calcareous plates or ossicles, ambulacra (food) grooves and a water vascular system with tube feet. Paleontologists recognize many extinct classes within this phylum. There are five extant (living) classes within the Echinodermata:

  • The Asteroidea (starfish)
  • Crinoidea (crinoids)
  • Ophiuroidea (brittle stars)
  • Echinoidea (sea urchins)
  • Holothuroidea (sea cucumbers)

 - Crinoids


 - Mammals
 - Dinosaurs & Birds
 - Reptiles & Amphibians
 - Fishes

 - Mollusks
 - Echinoderms
 - Arthropods

 - Plants & Amber

 - Minerals
 - Meteorites
 - Geology


Map ~ Help ~ Links